Doc’s Blog

Dr. Andry’s Band Blog

Congratulations are in order

| 0 comments

Congratulations to all my students for their hard work in preparation for this year’s marching festival. As you know by now, we earned a superior rating, which is the highest rating a band can receive. I have challenged them to earn the grand slam this year; that is a superior at our marching band festival, a superior at Loyola, a superior at District Band festival, and superiors at Disney.

Please remember that the first installment for the Disney trip is due to me by next Tuesday (Halloween). I have had lots of interest in parents going with us so I will have a mandatory meeting of all parents who plan on going with us to Orlando next Thursday (November 2) in the band room at 6:30. This meeting should only last 20-30 minutes. I want to make sure we are all on the same page. Here are a few things we will discus:

  • What are the responsibilities of chaperones?
  • Can siblings attend?
  • Can alumni attend?
  • How old do alumni have to be to chaperone?
  • Do I purchase tickets and get my hotel room on my own, or does Doc do that?
  • Do I have to have my background checked in order to chaperone?
  • Can I attend, even if I do not plan on being a chaperone?
  • What if my family wants to go up to Orlando early and spend the whole week there?
  • If I’ve already been fingerprinted and background checked by my child’s middle school, do I have to do it again now that my child is in high school?
  • Do adults have to purchase the whole packet?
  • Why is the chaperone package a little more expensive than the student package?
  • Do I have to ride the bus with the students?

As you see, there are a lot of questions for me to just answer in an email or a blog post. If you have any additional questions, please bring them to the meeting. I hope to be able to answer all of them at that time.

One more thing. The date for the Christmas Concert has been changed. The concert will be Sunday, December 3 at 2:00 PM. Please mark your calendars.

Thanks,

Doc

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.


Skip to toolbar